Spelman Johnson Congratulates 2016 Advancing Leaders in Higher Education

Category: Uncategorized



As 2016, our 25th year celebration, is coming to a close we are delighted to share with you the names of talented candidates who advanced into key leadership positions with our partner institutions this calendar year.

Please join us in congratulating the leaders named below on their recent appointments!


Academic Affairs

Eric Moschella, Associate Provost for Student Success
University of Massachusetts Amherst


Rachel Beech, Assistant Vice President, Admissions and Student Recruitment
California State University, San Bernardino

Richard Bryant, Director of Admissions Operations
University of Florida

Mark Campbell, Vice President for Enrollment Management
San Francisco Art Institute

Michelle Christopherson, Director of Admissions
University of Minnesota Crookston

Helen Garrett, University Registrar and Chief Officer for Enrollment Information Services
University of Washington

Heidi Kippenhan, Executive Director of Enrollment Management/Director of Admissions
Dickinson State University

Daniel Marschner, Director of International Admission
Loyola Marymount University

Association Administration

Susan Riseling, Executive Director
International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators (IACLEA)

Dawn Thomas, Executive Director
National Association of Campus Card Users (NACCU)


Joseph Cassidy, Executive Director for Campus Fitness and Recreation
Wake Forest University

Julia Duffy, Head Women’s Lacrosse Coach
Merrimack College

Jack Denholm, Director of Athletics
Buena Vista University

Thomas Hart, Commissioner
USA South Athletic Conference

Alanna Shanahan, Director of Athletics and Recreation
Johns Hopkins University

Courtney Stringer, Associate Athletic Director for Community Engagement
Western Washington University

Campus Law Enforcement

Ali Awadi, Director of Safety and Security
Allegheny College

Karen Leary, Executive Director of Public Safety/Chief of Police
Springfield College

Charles Noffsinger, Assistant Vice President for Police and Public Safety
The Pennsylvania State University

Career Services

Barbara Hampton, Director, Office of Graduate Career Services and Alumni Relations, Woodrow
Princeton University

Melinda King, Executive Director of the Career Center
The University of Alabama

Bryan Lubic, Executive Director of Career Services
Indiana State University

Edward Smith-Lewis, Director, UNCF Career Pathways Initiative
United Negro College Fund (UNCF)

Dining Services

Casey Enarson, Assistant Director of University Dining Services
Oklahoma State University – Stillwater

Jon Plodzik, Director of Dining Services
Dartmouth College

Financial Aid

Shannon Amundson, Director of Financial Aid
Colorado College

Briget Jans, Executive Director for Scholarships and Financial Aid
University of Houston

Michael Keane, Assistant Vice Provost for Financial Aid
Loyola Marymount University

Richard Ritzman, Director of Financial Aid
Clemson University

Finance & Administration

Stacie Scott, Vice President for Finance & Budget/Treasurer
Beloit College

Health Services/Counseling

Nancy Badger, Executive Director of Counseling Services
Old Dominion University

Melanie Bernitz, Associate Vice President for Health Services
Columbia University

Dean Misener, Chief Wellness Officer
Oklahoma State University – Stillwater

Danielle Oakley, Director of Counseling and Psychological Services
Duke University

Vimala Pillari, Dean of the College of Health Sciences and Human Services
Tarleton State University

Housing and Residence Life

Brittany Blount, Director of Residence Education
Old Dominion University

Emily Sandoval, Director of Residential Education
University of Southern California

Virginia Speight, Associate Director of Residence Life
Iowa State University

Daniel Welter, Associate Dean of Students for Fraternity and Sorority Life
Washington State University

Institutional Research

Christine Chavez, Senior Director of Institutional Research and Decision Support
Loyola Marymount University

Marketing and Communications

Mark Danes, Chief Strategic Communications Officer
Des Moines University


Margo Foreman, Director of Equal Opportunity
Iowa State University


Scott Correll, University Registrar
University of North Dakota

Student Affairs

Daryl Ansel, Associate Dean of Students and Executive Director of the ASUC Student Union
University of California, Berkeley

Martino Harmon, Senior Vice President for Student Affairs
Iowa State University

Patricia Helton, Regional Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
University of South Florida St. Petersburg

Jamison Keller, Assistant Dean and Director of Greek Affairs
Georgia Institute of Technology

Thanh Le, Director of Student Engagement and Leadership
West Virginia University

Patricia Martinez, Assistant Vice President for Student Services
The University of Alabama at Birmingham

Fred McCall, Director, Office of Student Engagement
California State University, San Bernardino

Katherine O’Dair, Dean of Students, Harvard College
Harvard University

David Parrott, Vice President for Student Affairs
University of Florida

Lizzette Dorantes Rebolledo, Director of New Student Programs
Virginia Tech

Lori Reesor, Vice Provost for Student Affairs/Dean of Students
Indiana University Bloomington

Denine Rocco, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Students
Bridgewater State University

Jeremy Schenk, Executive Director, Norris University Center
Northwestern University

Bonnie Weston, Associate Dean and Director of Student Integrity
Georgia Institute of Technology

Ellen Heffernan

President - Spelman Johnson

Ellen Heffernan graduated from Smith College with a B.A. in economics and government. She joined Spelman Johnson in 1996, after a ten-year career in higher education that included positions at Smith College and the University of Massachusetts Amherst. She is also a national speaker and writer on topics related to recruiting and professional development in higher education and serves as faculty for several national higher education association professional development programs. Ellen also currently serves on the executive board of the National Association of Executive Recruiters.